Weight, Motivation, Nutritionists (Oh My!)

Michelle, over at Smoochdog, unknowingly sent me some serendipitous karma over the weekend, and it’s been swirling in me ever since. She posted some resolutions that she’s planning on tackling before the end of the year, and they are all good goals she’s set for herself.

It got me thinking about just how bad and dangerous my health situation has become.

I really don’t need much more evidence than I’ve received this summer. I tried a full-blown diet plan with an exercise regimen that, even 10 years ago, would have dropped 25 pounds off of me without a problem. Now, on the eve of returning to school officially for meetings and planning sessions before the students return to the classroom, I find myself no thinner than I was the last day of school. In fact, I feel less healthy now than I did in June.

I’ve emailed a nutritionist at my university where I’m an alum and where I teach as an adjunct. I believe they may offer me free or reduced-fee services to help me overcome this weight problem. It’s no longer an issue of wanting to make the change; it’s an issue of having to make the change. Clearly, I cannot do it on my own. If I could, I would have done it this summer.

I’m 41 and 100 pounds overweight. I love life, I love my job as a teacher, I love my family and my dear, dear friends, and I love all that surrounds me. I am too young to lose any aspect of my life, and I am so desperate to do whatever it takes to save my life and bring me back to a more healthy place.

The Seagull Century that I wanted to ride in is now a bust, but there’s a walk-marathon in Orlando in January, and Team-In-Training for that event begins in September. I plan on joining that program to walk for my sister and for my mother, as well as for myself. It’s one part of the puzzle that may help the other parts fall more easily into place.

I don’t know. All I do know is that being this way, feeling this way, is a killer on my self-esteem, and I am so distressed to be returning to the classroom in worse health than when I left it two months ago.

I’ll let y’all know how the meetings go with the nutritionist, if they work out. I’m planning on taking Michelle’s lead and keeping all of this out in the open. It may help me, and it may help others out there who are facing a similar situation.

So…Thanks, Michelle. Here’s to everyone finding their path tomorrow with fewer pebbles and a few more rose petals…

as always……………….rvw 🙂

5 thoughts on “Weight, Motivation, Nutritionists (Oh My!)

  1. I love that Michelle has inspired you! Something you might want to consider: The Fat Smash Diet by Ian Smith. Yes, it’s featured on Celebrity Weightloss, which would make one a bit skeptical, but I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. And it makes sense! Fruits, veggies, keep away from processed foods (if something has more than 5 ingredients listed, don’t eat it). Keep it simple! BTW, raw almonds are a GREAT snack!

    Hang in there, and I know you can do it!

    Like

  2. This was one of my uberlist items at the beginning of the year as well. I am 37, approaching 38, and am a good 35-40 pounds overweight. I have done little to change that and the extra hot weather over the summer means I’ve had even less physical activity than normal. My wife and I just talked today about getting started again towards a healthy lifestyle. Like everyone I’d like to look good but more importantly I want to feel healthy and I don’t. So I’ll be joining you in spirit and in action in working towards a more healthy lifestyle.

    Like

  3. thanks, Janet, Carl. I’ve done a little research on the Fat Smash Diet, and I’ll see what my nutritionist thinks. I think momentum has so much to do with it, as well as surrounding yourself with positive, supportive people who understand the importance of changing to a more healthy lifestyle. I just don’t want to get to the point where I find myself saying that it’s too late. I’ve already started to feel a little like that this summer, and I know that if I don’t do something soon, I will be saying just that: It’s too late. Thanks again….I greatly appreciate the encouragement!

    Like

  4. I love when people rally together to suport each other in their achieving their goals even when their goals are different. I did do 30 minutes on the bike yesterday fo me it is not so much about the weight loss but about cardio health – it was grueling – imagine 30 minutes grueling for a 35 year old person – but I will do it again later today. Whatever path you choose RSUV you can do it – just think baby steps.

    Like

  5. Did good last night. Healthy meal followed by a walk outside with the family. Cancelled it all out today with a trip to Arby’s for lunch. French dip sandwich and onion peels. I’ll be working this off all month!

    Like

Comments are closed.